APS

FLORIDA POSTAL HISTORY JOURNAL



Promoting Philately in the Sunshine State

Vol. 32, No. 2 May 2025 Whole No. 90

Tallahassee, St. Johns, Drayton Island, and Fort King Postal History



2 Florida Postal History Journal May 2025

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Florida Society Awards 3
Three 1826 Tallahassee Postmarks
by Thomas M. Lera 4-6
Articles of Distinction Awards 6
Drayton Island
by Phil Eschbach
Literature Competition Awards12
St. Johns Bluff Postal History
by Thomas M. Lera 12-17
Fort King
by Phil Eschbach 17-19

Special thanks to the

Central Florida Stamp Club

for their generous Contributing Membership and website sponsorship.

Several members of the group also belong to the Florida Postal History Society, and we thank them for their continued support and friendship. www.CentralFloridaStampClub.org

We also thank the
Florida Stamp Dealers' Association
for their financial help as website sponsors.
www.FloridaStampDealers.org

FLORIDA POSTAL HISTORY SOCIETY BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS

President Mr. Francis Ferguson

pres@fphsonline.com

Vice President Mr. Stephen L. Strobel

vpres@fphsonline.com

Secretary Mr. Todd Hause

sec@fphsonline.com

Treasurer Dr. Deane R. Briggs

treas@fphsonline.com

Director Mr. Wayne Farley

At-Large atlarge1@fphsonline.com

Director Mr. Thomas M. Lera At-Large atlarge2@fphsonline.com

Director Mr. Richard Lomax At-Large atlarge3@fphsonline.com

Past President Dr. Vernon R. Morris, Jr.

Journal Editor Mr. Steve Swain and Publisher jedit@fphsonline.com

Webmaster Mr. Francis Ferguson

ferg@FloridaStampShows.com

Membership in the Florida Postal History Society is open to all.

Membership applications can be obtained from:

Todd Hause 846 Angle Street NE Palm Bay, FL 32905 email: sec@fphsonline.com

or by link on our webpage: www.FPHSonline.com

Copyright ©2025 Florida Postal History Society. All rights reserved. Opinions expressed by the authors are their own and do not necessarily reflect those of the Florida Postal History Society or its officers. Permission is granted for noncommercial reference and partial reproduction of material contained herein, provided that attribution is given to the Florida Postal History Society and the author of the referenced article. Such citation must include the specific issue(s) of *Florida Postal History Journal*. Reprint of articles appearing in the *Florida Postal History Journal* require the prior written permission of the editor. Commercial use of any material requires prior written approval of the Florida Postal History Society officers.





Congratulations to Deane R. Briggs, M.D. for his award of

"Exceptional Service and Dedication to the Florida Postal History Society From Its Founding in 1992 to the Present"

Dr. Briggs (above left) received his award from President Francis Ferguson at the society's meeting at the Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition, January 17-19, 2025.





Congratulations to Thomas M. Lera for his

"Florida Postal History Society Research Award"

Tom Lera (above left) received his award from Treasurer Deane Briggs at the society's meeting at the Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition, January 17-19, 2025.